Abstract Thursday

The Abstract Thursday challenge was started by blipper youoregon1 (Robert Ostrochovsky) almost 7 years ago. It was then taken over by Ingeborg who tells us that Robert is currently dealing with an aggressive brain tumour and had his first brain surgery recently. I'm sure all blippers send Robert our sincere wishes for a speedy recovery; todays AT blips are dedicated to him.

Ingeborg suggested that today we make an abstract Blip about what inspires us in Abstract Photography. I find it such fun to mess around with techniques to produce an abstract, seeing what effect they have and experimenting until I get a result which satisfies me. Such techniques can be done in-camera (eg Intentional Camera Movement, Multiple Exposure, etc) or in post-processing software.

So when this morning we woke to a light covering of snow (more than we've had all winter), I had a walk along a track through a small wood and took a photo looking along it, spinning the camera during a longish exposure to produce a vortex effect. This seemed OK to me as it was, but I couldn't resist the temptation to mess around with it in Photoshop, eventually settling on putting a twirl on it as well. Here's the result.

This afternoon we went to the local Royal Quays factory outlet and came across another of the "Morph" statues (see here, here and the second extra here). I've put today's as an extra: he's entitled "Mr Create".

Finally, this coming Saturday (April 2nd) is the first one of the month, so it will be a hosted Silly Saturday, in memory (as always) of blipper Admirer. I'll be hosting myself this time and the tags will be SilSApr2022 or SilS287. Please have a go - find something really silly, daft, funny or just plain peculiar to blip - try and choose something which would have made Admirer giggle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.