Windmill 'De Graanhalm', Burgh-Haamstede

'Graan' = 'GHraan' = 'grain'
'Halm' = pronounce the 'l' as it is not silent, so 'haLm' = that top part of the grass blowing in the wind and heavy with grain
'Burgh' = old term for 'castle' and NOT 'mountain' (which is 'berg')
'Haamstede' sounds like 'Ham-stay-duh'
'Burgh-Haamstede' is actually two villages joined into one.  If you look at the map (click on map link), you'll see the round area that used to be 'Burgh'.

Studied the weather forecast several times and observed the clouds and cloud movements in the cloud radar website and decided to go for it, but this meant an early start, and the window of time would not be that generous.  You cannot see it in the shot, but clouds were starting to roll into the area from the right, and by the time I was back on the road they had jockeyed into position.  It was still sunny, fortunately, although that didn't last that long either.  It was grey halfway home.  With temperatures close to freezing it was no surprise that hardly anyone was out at Burgh-Haamstede, which is a popular beach area.  In fact, the beach there is my favourite, but it is at the tip of this headland and I had no more time to drive there.

'De Graanhalm' is also known locally as 'De Pannenkoekenmolen' ('Pannen-kook'), or 'Pancake Windmill' because there's a pancake restaurant inside it.  There is also a primary school nearby but the access is not so immediate -- a creek separates the school from the windmill, and there is no bridge between, which is perhaps a good thing as it would have otherwise been so easy for the children to sneak off for pancakes.  The windmill was built in 1847, the primary school in the 1990s.  This shot was taken at the back of the school.

Got back at lunchtime, and shortly afterwards, Son arrived to pick up some old heavy metal from the front shed.  AW is slowly clearing the room in view of its renovation, which we are thinking of finishing before the summer begins, or maybe after the summer ends, depending on our mood and our hesitancy to spend.  However we feel about it, the work has to be done anyway.

Genealogy info updated this afternoon, and then, while I thought of clearing up my little workroom a bit more, I chanced upon a novel, in Dutch, we once won at a lottery, which AW has already read.  Without thinking, I started on it, and now, unbelievable for me, I've just finished it.  For the first time, the subject matter did not move me to tears (10 years ago my reactions would have been different), and, instead, gave me ideas for my own chapters.  So that was time well spent, and I enjoyed it immensely, too.  In between all that, we had dinner and I finished clearing up in the kitchen, and managed some gaming as well.

In short, a full day.  In the news, the government announced that it was lowering the temperature in all government buildings from 21-22 degrees to 19 degrees.  Everyone is being encouraged to do likewise or similar.  Our PM explained that they can't subsidize everything and we'll need to tighten our own belts.  Well, I think most of the Dutch knew that already and people who were interviewed said that they had already adjusted their thermostats shortly after the war began.  AW and I have decided to do the same.  We said to each other that we can do this, that we will get through this without a problem.  It would help enormously, though, if the clouds and winter wind would just blow away and give the sun more slack.

This means I might also have to hunt less.  That said, taxes for fuel and some other basic items have been lowered by as much as 21%.  Nonetheless, I need to keep a sharp eye on what I'm doing.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.