Windmill 'Sint Anna', Keent, Weert

'Keent' sounds like 'Kaynt', same sound as 'kay' in 'okay'.  Logically, then, 'Weert' sounds like 'Wayrt' and certainly not 'weird'.

A beautiful day for a drive to the southeast, where, according to cloud radar data, there were almost no clouds compared to other parts of the country, including our area, at least in the morning.  Two extras, so you can see the front and side, but what I liked about the main shot was... the Ukrainian flag waving furiously in the wind.  The temperature was just a notch above zero.  It did become darkly grey mid-afternoon, when I was back in our area, but the sun returned around 16.00-ish and hung around for martinis till sunset.  Between all the activities, I managed a half-hour nap in the warmest part of the room.

Due to foul weather this coming week, no windmill-hunting, and I'm sure I won't be cycling either, which is why I had to seize the opportunity today.  A good excuse also to do other things.  We started this afternoon, for example, by going to a DIY shop and ordering accordeon 'blinds' for our kitchen.  They will be delivered in about 3 weeks.  AW also bought new garden shears and I selected some packets of flower seeds.  And then on and off today, I finished hand-washing laundry and cleaning the kitchen (that last one is a regular thing but someone has to do it).

Then I updated all the back-ups of my genealogy files.  It would be a pity now if some digital glitch caused them to disappear into thin air.  Some people will ask me why in this day and age do I not make use of 'the Cloud', and my answer to that is that I will, eventually, when the files are complete.  Cloud services aren't free and they're the kind of 'thing' that aren't at the top of my list.  Much later, when I'm really done, I will buy a little 'memorial plot' in the Cloud and permanently park stuff there that I know I won't be resurrecting again.  All the files I keep for myself will eventually be donated to the archives for future generations.  As for all my windmill shots, now numbering some 3600+, they will all go into a compact little drive and given as a gift to the Windmill Foundation and Database institute.  A little nutty, perhaps, but this is the way the Ellaphant wants to be remembered.  If at all.

Another full day.  Can't say I've been bored.  AW did say this is not what he thought he would be getting when he asked me to marry him.  I think I can say the same thing with regards to him.  :D)))

Have a good week, everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.