Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

Sights from my Bike Ride

It was a beautiful early spring day.  Things are starting to green up and trees and shrubs have buds.  I was too early for the Yellow-headed Blackbirds.  I asked a ranger if he had seen any and he said it would probably be a few more weeks.  They will definitely be blipped.  I rode 31 miles today, still wearing tights but with only a T-shirt and light jacket.  It was 72 when I got home. :-)

My Silly Saturday blip is in the second extra.  I was hoping I would find something silly on my ride.  Remembering Admirer today and thanks to davidc for hosting!

Collage  

Top Row:          Larry Jensen, my new friend.  There is construction going on at this little lake and a fence with a "temporarily closed" sign, but I went down to the water on the open side.  I scanned for ducks but they were too far away, so I turned to leave and saw him coming toward me in his golf cart.  He asked where I was going and I said back to the road.  Then he asked where I was going after that.  I realized he wasn't going to scold me, he just wanted to visit.  So we did, for about15 minutes.  It turns out that he was the owner of the lake and surrounding land.  He inherited it from his mother, Mary Mead Jensen, after whom the town is named.  He recently donated the property to the Town of Mead and they are making "improvements".  He said he's not too sure if he likes that.  He pointed out his house and said that if he's not outside next time I ride by, I should knock on the door.  He was the highlight of my ride.  There's a closer shot of him in the first extra.
                          Another Northern Shoveler.  There was a large flock today.
                          Tree stump art

Middle:             Killdeer
                          Male Osprey.  He's not from the nest I watch but he really wanted to be blipped.  The Ospreys have returned to the nest nearby and are busy mating and sprucing up the nest.  Here is a link to the nest camera if you want to watch them and read the comments.
                          Rough-legged Hawk.  I don't think I've seen one before and had to depend on the Merlin app for help with the ID.

Bottom:           Buddha tree carving.  I think I've blipped this before but it's really beautiful and I wanted to show it again.  
                          I didn't notice this Western Meadowlark as I rode past, but then he sang his lovely song and got my attention.  He wouldn't turn around and show his pretty yellow breast, though.
                          Google lens says this is an Austin A30, circa 1957.

I am grateful that my shoulder only feels a little worse than before the ride.  It's definitely getting better. :-)  
                          

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.