Tubular hells

I call this small plantation Tube Wood. It was planted on a private valley side about 40 years ago I should think, with hazel, birch and ash saplings which have done well and created a nice mossy understorey. But their plastic tubes were never removed! Some have been cast aside by the growing trees but others have remained coiled around the expanding trunks, or have become permanently embedded. Every time I visit I peel off a few more or tug at the immoveable ones. I don't think the tubes have caused severe problems but the practice of protecting saplings in this way is discouraged now, except in areas where there are deer at large. It's annoying that so many plastci tubes have remained scattered about and I doubt they will ever be removed. Maybe they will serve as cosy waterproof homes for invertebrates.

And then, in the extra, black plastic!! It gets everywhere in the countryside doesn't it?  
No, in this case not so, it's the jelly fungus Exidia glandulosa on an oak branch and will in time dissolve and disappear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.