This is the day

By wrencottage

Nesting Materials?

My new book, "Nests" is just wonderful. So much so that while I was walking round the garden this afternoon, I found myself looking out for bits and pieces that birds might use for making their nests. I found some thin strips of bark peeling off the trunk of a bush – and was amused to think that before yesterday I wouldn't have given it a second thought. Today, though, I recognised its nest-building potential! Likewise the feather, the moss and the pile of twigs and dead leaves. The latter was deliberately stacked at the back of a bed (by me) after the recent storms. I know wrens and other birds love foraging for food in piles of twigs ...

In the extras is another collage, this time of general garden shots. We haven't been able to get out for a walk again today so the half hour I spent in the garden with my camera in the fresh air was a real treat for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.