It was our club's monthly Sunday climb today, but only Fi and I were available... or more likely the only ones prepared to go on such a cold day! But then L, a prospective member that I've been messaging, said that she'd like to come. Brilliant :-)

We met for car sharing and were very soon at Harborough Rocks, chosen because it's quite friendly for new climbers. L tried on the spare harness I'd brought and it fit thank goodness, but we had no spare helmet and she had to make do with trainers.

Fi and I only led one route each, it was cold, I was tired from yesterday and Fi was getting over her second dose of covid, but L climbed them both. She wasn't very supple, she thought she couldn't do it, she hugged the rock, but ultimately she did it, arriving at the top victorious! She was worried that she was too slow, that we'd get fed up, but I really enjoyed it, helping and encouraging her and seeing her conquer her fear on a pretty steep VDiff. Well done L, I hope she comes again.

Once home I got on with packing, sorting and preparing tomorrow's dinner.

Extra: L 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.