Fleeting

Considering how long camellia flowers take to emerge (it feels like some of the buds have been there more than a year), they don’t actually last long once open, but quickly get blown, in interesting ways, as well as the petals decaying.

I was hoping to get a Water of Leith blip of some sort, but the day got blown somewhat awry around 12.30 when I decided to look for my keys….as they were not hanging where they should have been… I realised that I hadn’t put them back on the key rack yesterday afternoon when we came back (and we had been in the unusual situation of both of us being out with keys as I took mine in order to get into my office and Mr A always takes his). Searching through my bag and the coat I was wearing yesterday failed to produce any sign of the keys. I phoned the restaurant and they said they had no sign of anything. After sitting and thinking for a bit, we decided that the most likely thing was that I left them in the toilets in Old College. I put them down, and failed to pick them up again. The last time I remembered having them was when I locked my new office, just before I went to the toilet.

So after a very pleasant lunch and blether with meles, and some purchasing of SMWS products, Mr A and I headed back into town. Thank goodness for our bus cards! We hopped on a 16 outside the Vaults, and then across onto a 7 which was actually in front of us outside John Lewis (IMHO the best place to change buses at present). So that was pretty efficient. Into the office, and yes, I found the keys. They were not in the toilet, but they were sitting at reception where they had obviously been put by someone who had visited the same toilet later. Phew. What a relief. The prospect of having to get new keys plus a key fob for opening the downstairs garage was not one that filled me great pleasure. Back on the buses — this time a 5 from outside OC, and then onto a 16 on George Street, getting off at the Kirkgate. Neither of them are buses I think I’ve ever taken before.

Home to get on with some more work, so that I feel ready to go tomorrow for a last week before taking some leave. But I feel strangely wiped out and washed up. It may have been the emotional effects of thinking I had lost of my keys and the relief that I had not done so.

It’s also worth pointing out that it is very cold again. It was bright and sunny this morning, but rainy and windy this evening - already by the time we came back from town. So the changeable and wintery weather may also be affecting me.

So tonight I’m going to read my book.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.