Top deck privileges

A pretty early start for a Saturday to go into town to do a task which I thought might take a long time, but in the end was done and dusted in about an hour. I have to move offices, because of my new role, and the new office doesn’t have as much shelving as the old one (which I will probably move back to when I’ve finished, but the politics of offices in my school are so complex you never know…).

Since it was earlier than we expected, we decided to go into the National Museum, which is basically next door, and have a look at the typewriter exhibition, which was fascinating. After that, we wandered gently over to George Street, via the National Library, where I thought that I might find a nice notebook (I seem to get through them at a rate of knots at present), but instead came out with a book that speaks to many of my obsessions. In the end, notebooks were procured from Paperchase on George Street, which is more prosaic, but fine. Also on George Street I successfully managed not to go into Seasalt, despite passing it twice (quite the triumph) and we had a nice lunch at Cafe Andaluz. After that, we managed to come home on the bus without buying a kitchen. Altogether a pleasant half day in the city, followed by a lazy afternoon doing not that much here.

Unfortunately, we seem to have a plague of pigeons again here, and it is at its worst for many years. I’m not sure what has changed to bring them back here again in such large numbers. We used to have a serious problem in the first years we were here, but then the problem eased. But they are back in large numbers this year. So both of us are on pigeon patrol with a broom and we are looking into some sort of pigeon scarer for the balcony.

Anyway, the bus journey into town first thing this morning allowed us to take the front seats and permitted me to get a blip which highlights #thestateofleithwalk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.