Excursion

I headed over to Glasgow today, to meet up with JM for lunch and a chat/catch up. It was very helpful in terms of understanding how the challenges I face are also faced elsewhere.

Public transport served me well, although the moment when the ticket seller on the Glasgow subway spotted my Edinburgh "Scotland" card in my wallet and gave me a concessionary fare on the subway was something I wasn't entirely sure I was pleased about. He shouldn't really have done it, as concessionary fares for "seniors" are only really supposed to be given to Glasgow residents....but he was, he said, in a generous mood. Like I said...mixed feelings about my "60 and over" status....

Mask wearing was pants on Scotrail, but much better on the clockwork orange. So it's hard to blame weegies.... I really don't know why it is so bad on Scotrail. People are seduced by the wide open spaces of the train? Luckily it wasn't at all busy in either direction, so I steered well clear.

The impending lifting of all restrictions and removal of free testing also in Scotland does not fill me with joy.

I've not been in Queen Street station since the renovations were finished so my one photo of Glasgow is a snap of the new glass back wall of the station concourse.

After dinner, we've been for a freezing outdoor drink in Campervan brewery....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.