Tree line

It’s time to take a bit of time off. Today, I only intended it to be the morning, but in the end I didn’t feel like working in the afternoon, so I didn’t (apart from wrangling a few emails). I may have been influenced by the fact that I got an email saying that another email would arrive in the evening, which I, and the other recipient, should respond to (implicitly quickly). After we reminded the sender that we were both taking some time off, the second email never arrived... This was the same person who annoyed me a few weeks ago by sending a really annoying email at 6pm on a Friday evening.... So heaven knows when that email will arrive, but it will have to be dealt with next week.

As the weather is projected to be good through Sunday and very meh (understatement) for next week, it makes more sense to frontload the time off and then get started again next week.

We took our lovely smooth new car to Yellowcraig, to introduce it to East Lothian and get a walk on the beach. There were a tremendous number of East Lothian Council vans in the car park (and a yellow striped traffic vulture checking that parking was being paid for), we wondered if it was some sort of Council away day. There were various groups here and there, including one group doing beach yoga. But it’s a big space and didn’t feel crowded.

On the way back, we stopped at Gosford Farm, and along with a piece of lamb to roast at the weekend, I scored a large bag of bread flour, which Mr A has been angsting about getting for some time. So that will keep him happy. I was channelling a bacon roll, but wasn’t sure where to get one. Possibly from the van at Long Niddrie Bents?

In the evening, we watched three Simon Reeve programmes in what amounted to a binge watch for us. Inevitably, I fell asleep during the last one, and so had to ask Mr A to rewind so I could watch the bit where he swam across the Yangtze River in Wuhan. Rather him than me. All made, of course, before Wuhan became famous for other reasons.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.