Emergency balcony blip

Although I went out today, it wasn’t with the intention of getting a blip, but rather for a power walk around the paths. I did take one quick photograph on my phone, but I decided a quick trip out on the balcony after it had started raining would be more fruitful.

This is one corner of the big pot, that is looking rather different to how it did in May last year. Mind you, I’m sure it will look different come May, this year. I may have killed the fuchsia, because I pruned it too vigorously, but two of the baby fuchsias are still with us. They have already started growing back.

What wintered well was the campanula and the sedum (already photographed this year), and to that has been added a new aquilegia and some insta-colour from Lidl. I’ll doubtless be photographing the pot regularly as the spring proceeds (which it didn’t today, as despite being fairly bright this morning, it felt like winter was back again this evening).

Work went well. I finished off the annoying piece of writing that I was stuck on yesterday, and attended an interesting webinar on migration and citizenship in Latin America. My walk was timely as something quite annoying had just exploded in my inbox. By the time I returned, hot and sweaty, it didn’t seem important any more.

For dinner, I made an indulgent supper of gammon, fried egg and excellent oven chips. And we started the bottle of Arbikie Nadar gin, which I was persuaded to buy by my sister. It’s apparently a ‘climate positive’ gin, whatever that means. It’s also a gin that tastes remarkably like a whisky. We couldn’t really work that one out. I made Mr A stop giving us servings of the Esker, as I’d like there to be some left next week when we have the online event with the maker, so that I can indulge in some ‘tasting’.

Easter is almost upon us. And April. The year is racing along, as ever, although in other ways it feels like it’s creeping along. As of tomorrow, I will start taking some mornings off so that we can get a few walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.