Dickson's Gold

One of the boons of the new macro lens is that it has finally enabled me to get a close up view of the campanula Dickson's Gold, which was part of my package of flowers from plants for small gardens which I purchased in April. The flowers are tiny - at most 2 cms across, and the stamens are less than a milimetre across. The flowers are past their best now, but they've been providing good colour and food for pollinators since June.

This was one of the few decent photographs of the dozens I took yesterday, mainly when we were sitting out on the balcony having a beer in the welcome sunshine in the afternoon. I've deleted most of them. But I thought it was quite reasonable for something handheld, and it was pretty windy still, although the wind was dying down.

In and amongst I was making a venison pie. I've put that in the extras. We were most pleased with it, and scoffed the lot, mainly watching the cricket highlights.

It was a day of considerable self-care.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.