Owl change

There's a good range of #leithwalkshops on the right hand side of Leith Walk (going up) on the bottom bit of Elm Row before you get to the youth hostel. Quite a few of them are cafés. I had coffee in one such café yesterday after my spinning class (not sure they were impressed by my sweaty presence, but it was just the way I decided to organise my morning, so tant pis). Some of them are unchanging, like Embo, which has been there at least ten years. Others are very much moving feasts, like this one. I'm not sure how long it's been there. It was Heart Cafe before. And before that, well who knows. I caught up with a review of it in this latest emanation of Owl Deer that was very uncomplimentary so it's hardly surprising it's closed. Anyway, they've still got their website online, so who knows what's happening.

I haven't blipped this row of shops consistently, as when I used to cycle up Leith Walk, it wasn't easy to blip the other side of the road without a lot of faff (and when I was cycling home on the right side of the road I rarely felt like stopping). Now that I walk up that way maybe once a week, it's a good opportunity for a blip in order to record the changing street.

Anyway, after spinning and coffee, I caught a bus to the library, and picked up an Interlibrary Loan that had come from the US. Work in the office, and then over to meet Mr A near Charlotte Square for a pizza before going to watch/listen to Allan Little interviewing Elif Shafak. Great stuff. Quick drink with some friends and colleagues and then home to wait for L whose flight up from London City was quite badly delayed. Late to bed and even then I couldn't sleep.

Partly, well maybe mainly, it's the book. Also, it's the absolute clusterfuck that is British politics. But I'm too stressed about it to say any more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.