Plants - indoors and outdoors

There's still a lot of snow here and it's mostly melting slowly in our present weather of cold nights and days only just above 0°C. I usually write how much I love the snow but right now even I'm getting a bit tired of the white stuff.
In one part of our garden the south facing wall of our house throws morning warmth down onto the flower beds and lawn. There the snow is finally melting away (extra), and these narcissus are sticking their shoots up. Hooray, our first shoots!
The actual bulbs were bought as plants in a pot, probably last spring, to add a touch of colour to our dining table. They did their job and then dried up and sat in our cellar all summer until late autumn when I optimistically threw them into the ground, together with the original label.  I'm happily surprised by their appearance, allowing my to tag a picture "spring" for the first time in 2022.
On April 1st  I posted a picture of a house plant leaf with many plantlets around it's point. I didn't know what it was and was asking for help.  Thanks to intothehills who set me on the right track. I'm fairly sure it's Kalanchoe daigremontiana, (mother of thousands) and can be an invasive pest in Australia and other warm countries. Not a problem here!
PS My cold (and cough) is noticeably better today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.