Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Snakeshead Fritillary for WildflowerWeek22

Fritillaria meleagris

As the morning was grey and dull I decided some unusual angles for MonoMonday might be a good bet and I went to St John's (which inside does have some very unexpected angles for a small parish church).  However, I'd only got to the bottom of St John's Street when the sun came out.  It was out for less than an hour but it got me this shot of a lone fritillary in the churchyard to launch my own entries for WildflowerWeek22.

I've always thought fritillaries very special and have to confess, for me it's not just the the wonderful flowerhead, but also the leaves looking like curlicues on a particularly elegant piece of calligraphy.

Happy wildflower-hunting and have a good Monday evening/Tuesday morning  xx

More dtails about WildflowerWeek here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.