Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Yellow or red

There is a wide-spread country myth that if you plant cowslips or primroses upsidedown they flower red.  The seed of this cowslip was clearly the right way up when it went in the ground, though there are little orange-red daubs on each petal.  Meaning... ?

This morning I caught the bus up to Morn Hill butterfly reserve to see if the cowslips are coming out.  The answer to that is yes, they are just beginning, though it will be another 3 or 4 weeks before they're in full flood.  I'lll return then and try for a long shot.

Cowslips are very important up there, being the food plant for the Duke of Burgundy caterpillar.  DoB is the rarest UK butterfly, so I'm told.  They breed here and on Deacon Hill over the valley.  I've never seen one.

I also caught a bus home and have planted some sunflower seeds.  That's my energy quotient used up for the day then.

Finally, just to say I am thrilled with all the entries for 2021's first WildflowerWeek - so many of them and so lovely.  I'll announce the hearts on Tuesday.  From today (until midnight Saturday 10th) the tag is #Wildflowerweek21_02

A very HAPPY EASTER to you all  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.