Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Under the sun

That is really literally where I've been all day - outside under the bluest of blue skies, without need of coat, gloves or any of that paraphenalia.  The morning started early in the reserve and this was one of the first shots I took (yes, I know, more willow!).  Leaving the reserve at Durngate I then went up to Morn Hill to try for some butterfly shots.  I saw a red admiral, 3 brimstones (all male), a peacock, a holly blue (yes, really) and 4 tortoiseshells.  I had thought I might be posting one of them, but the sad truth is the wildflowers up there haven't got past cowslips (most still only half grown) and dandelions (on very short stalks) so the pics all looked a bit messy  ;(

I did talk to two very nice butterfly conservation volunteers who were impressed with the number of tortoiseshells I saw.  They said last year was a dreadful one for them.

When I got home I took Hazel straight out for a walk in the marshes and saw a lot of butterflies again, though I didn't have the camera with me.  Also I clocked some lovely periwinkles and bluebells!!  Admittedly they were only the Spanish ones, which come out earlier than English ones do, but I get the impression the natural world has decided it can't wait any longer to get going, despite the night frosts we've woken up to the last two days.

So there we are, that's me.  Oh, and I have a uni student in need of cash who's going to slave for me in the garden a couple of days this hols.  GOOD news!!

Enjoy your Tuesday evening/Wednesday morning  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.