Ink painting

Gas and electric smart meters were installed yesterday. The installation guy was very pleasant. So, now I can see on the monitor how much I use in pennies as the day progresses. I am still on my earlier fixed tariff from last year, so, I do not have an increase (as far as I understand it) until end of May, when my current tariff ends (and then I might have a shock).

The installation guy disconnected the electric meter at 8 am yesterday, and then did the gas meter. I have only used 31p in total for the gas and electric since he put the new smart meters in. It is 8:30 am the next day now. I have boiled water for tea and coffee. I have cooked two meals (I was hungry because I was stressed yesterday with this meter change, normally I only have one cooked meal). I had the electric blanket on while I was on the couch during the day. I also had the electric blanket on during the night in bed. Electric lights have been on. I have charged up all my devices and a couple of power packs. The dehumidifier has been running non stop in the kitchen. Two ionisers have been running 24/7 as always. But I have not had a shower yet nor used the bathroom underfloor heating yet, nor have I used the washing machine.

But what I did do, was turn off the gas boiler when I realised how much gas the pilot light used. It is an old boiler and I was just using it for hot water if necessary. The installation guy checked it was safe (my last service on it had been just before Xmas), he had to check that before he installed the new gas smart meter. I googled to find out how much a pilot light cost to run a year, and was shocked to find it could cost around £120, just for the pilot light. I can relight that pilot light if I need a quantity of hot water. Which will be if I am hand washing something.

I am glad the ancient gas meter has gone . It was a rust bucket that scared me. Although I had been told a few years ago it was safe.

So, most of that 31p is electric. I got a very cheap fixed rate this last year. And I thought the electric dial crept forwards slightly even when nothing was used, but I didn't do anything about it. I'll find out in next month's bill if it did.

I was surprised this was so cheap. At least I don't have my 3 children at home any more when they believed gas and electric grew prolifically on trees. My electric and gas bills then, 35 years ago were more then than they are now.

Creative today. An actual painting. With brush pens, and a black fude pen. It didn't do what I wanted when I put a brush full of water on it, but when I sprayed some water, the ink moved. More experimenting with different papers and maybe my inks when I find them. No hidden Popeye in this one. I put it through Snapseed for the name, text pic of cat Popeye, and the frame. i think it is a little washy washy.

The cat diner - Shadow was sleeping on the swing, so got first dibs at dawn. The left over cat biscuits from yesterday (only a few) got put on the tiny circular bird table I have. Then Mr Magpie came along, but he ate a few, and then took a beak full and flew away. I realised he must be feeding his missus who would be sitting on her eggs now. So, I feel sorry for begrudging him yesterday. I just hope he doesn't become a problem for my smaller birds, which happened one year...

Coffee needed now...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.