Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Early!

I landed back from Newark early this morning. It was a beautiful morning with the sun shining. Since I slept for 2-3 hours on the flight I didn’t think I’d take a nap when I got home, but at one point I got drowsy and stretched out on the sofa in my conservatory and woke up 3 hours later!  

When I woke up it was cloudy and cold. I had no motivation to go out for a walk. But just before sunset I could see that the clouds were breaking up. I didn’t really want to leave the house but I knew I’d be glad if I did, so I pushed myself out the door. I went to the little wood not far from where I live. It’s not a long walk but I always enjoy it and there always seems to be new things to see each time I’m there. I wasn’t disappointed.

The wood has a wonderful carpet of bluebells when they’re in season, which shouldn’t be long now. Here and there I saw just a few plants who were obviously eager to get going!!  This is one lovely example.

See the Extra photo for more scenes from the walk, including a random clump of primroses. I also saw some new fairy houses in the wood, which will have to be blipped another time. This is a well-known wood for fairies! See my blip here.

Once I had completed my short circular walk I saw the deep colours of the sunset behind the trees in the field across the road, so I did a very short walk through there as well - bottom right in the collage.

Whenever I don’t feel like going for a walk I always ask myself: “When do you EVER remember regretting going for a walk?”  Hasn’t happened yet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.