Admiral Von Tromp

It's been a good day and the weather has been better than I expected. After a good breakfast (I always have the full english on the first day, after that I'm more reserved) we set off for Sandsend, which is only a few miles away and went down to the beach as the tide was on the way out. There are lots of rotted posts, the remains of old groynes, which are quite photogenic. Living near the sea, I've done loads of this sort of thing and it tends to bore me. I thoroughly enjoyed myself there today though. I found the different angles and shapes very interesting.

Our next stop was back at Whitby when we went down the slipway beside the pier for shots of the west pier and lighthouse with fresh wet sand on the receding tide. I've added a shot from there as an extra.

From there we drove out from Whitby again to Saltwick Bay (which I was surprised to find is pronounced Salt'ick Bay. I've seen it written many times but never heard it spoken before. It's a fascinating bay with lots of different rock features and Black Nab very much a focal point. 

The Admiral Von Tromp is a comparatively recent wreck, it was 30th October 1976 that it went down and to be honest there's not much to see. Just this bit of ?hull and a lump of engine. It does make an interesting shape with the rock that it foundered on, Black Nab, behind. I think this image might make a good mono shot with a lot more processing work. The wind was very strong by this time and it made photography quite hard going.

I discovered this morning that one of the guys on the course is a veteran LPHer and of course is a blipper. You should check him out, DaveyH.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.