West Pier

It was a bit of a rainy, windy night but I slept well in the van. I was in no rush to go this morning but by 10 o'clock I was ready to leave. Said my goodbyes to Jane and Peter and headed north. It was an easy journey with just one very congested bit. As far as I could see it must have been caused by tractor trimming hedges! 

I arrived in Whitby at one o'clock which was the time my room was available so I got my permit and parked the van, dumped my bags and went for a walkabout and some lunch.

My photo is of the light on the end of the West Pier or more correctly the west pier extension. The light on the end is painted green and the one on the east pier is painted red, starboard and port respectively but I have enough trouble with left and right myself.

I've added an extra of a panorama of the River Esk going into Whitby. It was quite wide so I've squidged it, just for fun. I think the little houses look very cute with the narrow compression.

I've met up with the rest of the group for a short presentation and we've been out for a meal and chat this evening. It should be a good three days if the weather plays ball. It looks a bit dicey at times with some colder weather coming in, some rain and stronger winds. Ah well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.