Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Worlds

In the morning quiet I catch up on people that I follow on Instagram and Facebook.  One of the ladies on Instagram shared at woman's version of the Lord's Prayer.  It really was a pondering moment as I asked myself the question of "why can't God be feminine?"   I copied the verse down to think about more.    I am not a "religious" person but I do believe in a divine connection with and among everything.    Sometimes words just lead me to new and different than my normal thinking.  

Then another person I follow had a line from a poem by e e cummings who is one of my favorite poets.  The line was " the eyes of my eyes have opened".   I thought about this in the context of photography as I (and probably many of you)  see the world in ways we never would have without taking a photo.     I looked up the complete poem and it was a real eye opener since it speaks to my nature girl heart.    One thing about cummings is he must have got his word syntax from Yoda.    But one can rearrange the words in our minds to get what he is saying.  Which is real and wonderful.  

Here is the poem..

I thank You God for most this amazing day
For the leaping greenly spirits of trees
And a blue true dream of sky
And for everything which is natural, which is infinite, which is yes

I who have died am alive again today
And this is the sun's birthday
This is the birth day of life and of love and wings
And of the gay great happening illimitably earth

How should tasting, touching, hearing, seeing, breathing any
Lifted from the no of all nothing
Human merely being doubt unimaginable You?

Now the ears of my ears awake
And now the eyes of my eyes are opened

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.