A day of extremes

Thank you to all who have been following my journey and giving me stars and hearts which are very much appreciated. I’m enjoying your company along my way.
I have had great difficulty choosing my Blip for today because of all I have seen and experienced, so different from my normal daily life. As a result I have added more extras than usual.
My main is the port of Havøysund, a traditional fishing village with a population of one thousand, the majority of whom have moved here from the many outlying islands. From here, we sailed in an easterly direction to the port of Honningsvag on the island of Mageroya, passing a stark, snow-clad, treeless landscape, the snow and ice glistened in the sunshine. The wind was fierce, reminding me that I was in the Arctic and nearly blowing me off my feet as I battled along the deck to get a good shot.
From Honningsvag, we took a coach trip to the North Cape, the northernmost outpost of Europe. (It just had to be done!) The second extra shows the wild beauty beyond seventy-one degrees north.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.