Family

Today I began my day with the Lidl shop. Following this, I met a new friend for coffee in Cromer. A lovely lady from the singing group. We had a nice chat and she had lots of info for me about HRT, menopause and all things hormone related. A different angle as she is a homeopath, and I'm going to do some reading.

I left home about 1pm to head to Hoddesdon, dropping off at Tesco to buy some new underwear (I know, TMI) then at my inlaws, and then Manda's finally mums. It was a long tiring day, but positive.

After dinner, I sat down to find something on my laptop to send Manda, and stumbled across a half written, quite old poem. So I decided to try and finish it. A little rushed, but that's me. So here it is...

Reasons to smile...
 
Bright sun to wake me, with shining gold rays
Vibrant pink sunsets, ending warm sunny days
Newly cut grass on a damp summer morn
Holidays; caravans; dew filled dawn
Dreams where I’m flying, or winning, or right
But not those that wake me all through the night
White fluffy clouds that sit just out of reach
Finding a smooth shiny stone on the beach
Friends who hug me, because I am me
Catching a butterfly, setting it free
Jumping the waves, sea fishing at night
A full moon that glows, a magical sight
Picking the first runner beans of the season
Laughing out loud, without having a reason
Staying up late, eating chocolate alone
Catching up with my best friends by phone
Repeatedly singing a song with the girls
Twisting my fingers through ringlety curls
The Archers omnibus, Gone with the Wind
Eating fresh sweetcorn, or frozen or tinned..
Digging my hands into crumbly Spring loam
Time spent with family in our lovely home
Sewing with bright coloured fabric to make
anything, everything my fancy takes
A night on the sofa with my little sis
Sharing our memories as we reminisce
Lastly being with Jon, just that, nothing more
Silence with this man is a sound I adore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.