Dreaming Spires

I was up bright and early this morning. The sun was shining and the grass crunched with the frost as I left the van with my wash bag and headed for the amenity block. Back at the van I had a quick breakfast and a couple of cups of tea as I packed up to leave. I thought winding up a wet hookup lead was bad enough but a frosty one beats that. Not as bad as a muddy one though!

I'd had a couple of tips from Andy, the workshop leader who comes from Scarborough, for possible blips. The first one would have been great on a cloudier day but the sun was too bright today. The other was beautiful with the whole sweep of the bay with the town behind. That's in as an extra and there's another of the harbour taken at about 7.45 this morning. That accomplished I was away and on the road south.

The first part of the journey was fairly slow, along single carriageway road with speed regulated by whoever was in front of me as there was little opportunity for overtaking. After a while I got onto the motorway and making better progress I reached Oxford after a lunch stop at about one thirty. When I booked my pitch there were no electric pitches available so I was very pleased to be upgraded. It looks like someone's run a couple of long leads to the area where I am so that's great. 

After settling in and making a cup of tea I wandered out to the Park and Ride, which is just across the road, and caught the bus into the City Centre. They run every 10 minutes so I didn't have to wait long. I had a walk around Oxford and into Trinity College where I took my main blip. There seems to be a lot of activity going on with huge lorries parked in there but I have no idea what that's about. Maybe they're filming something.

The weather's remained lovely all day, a few darker clouds from time to time but I've only seen a couple of spots of rain. I'm hoping it'll stay the same tomorrow and I'll be home by lunchtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.