Saint Calixtus

I took my wife out in the Jag today, to make the most of some glorious sunshine. 

We had a splendid lunch at The Wheel at Worfield and then drove out to the beautiful village of Astley Abbotts. 

I have walked here before and wanted to show Mrs I the village and the church.

St Calixtus' Church is dated to the 12th century and some of the original features remain, although it is mainly 17th century that we see today.

The font (extra) is 12th century, was hewn from a solid block of sandstone, and for a while was used in a field as a water trough for livestock. It was reinstated in the 17th century.

The main path is said to have been made from the bones of slaughtered Royalist troops in the civil war. I can't evidence this but it is generally accepted as being factual..

A great day, wonderful food. 

And a superb run out in the Kitty cat

Marvellous! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.