DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Don’t be alarmed

Hooray! I’ve survived my first week at the helm.
Linda was ashore in Lisbon today, so finally had a decent enough signal to log in remotely and check on my progress. She’s messaged to say how pleased she is. Excellent news!

Little does she know, that today was one of those days, where everything that could go wrong has. But, with the help of the troops, we’ve won the battle.

The trainee (yes, that one again!!) is off with covid (she claims), so I had to don a uniform and work in surgery today, which left reception unmanned but needs must.

During a break between appointments, I thought it would be the perfect time to test the fire alarm. This is meant to be done weekly, so I really didn’t want to miss getting it done.

I followed the instructions to the letter but the alarm, once activated, wouldn’t turn off. Sheer panic set in.
Luckily, one of our senior nurses came to the rescue and (from experience) knew exactly what to do. Phew!!

Finally it was home time and we were all more than ready to start the weekend.

Over on the team group chat, one of the girls shared a news article about how some companies are trialling a 4 day week.
I replied, saying as I’m in charge, I’m happy to trial this for the next two weeks. Providing they take off next Friday and the following Monday. Hahahaha.

To tie in with the fire alarm, todays blip is the fire hydrant in our garden.
Mr A bought this from someone who’d rescued it from the demolished site of the Royal Ordnance factory. Before he became a cameraman, he was an apprentice engineer at the ROF, so he sees it as rescuing a piece of history.
It looks good in the garden too ;-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.