DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Done and (magic) dusted

Yay! I’m back in the land of the living!

My op went really well, taking just over 4 hours to do.
My consultant was happy so that can only be a good thing.

He told me that the bone has actually healed in part; saying that if I imagine it to have 4 sides, the back and one side has healed to create a ‘bone bridge’.
The bit that hasn’t healed was littered with bits of cartilage, so it’s no wonder it’s been reluctant to heal. Knowing this has made me feel much happier; it’s not just me being a crap healer!!
So, he’s cleaned it all out and packed it with my hip bone and his ‘magic dust’ which stimulates the regenerative bone cells into action.
He also adjusted my frame and added another wire for support.

During the pre-op, he asked again about the wedding date and if I’d be wearing heels. I said more likely flip flops as my left foot is now 2 sizes bigger than my right!
He’s still working backwards from our wedding date, so said the frame should come off in July then I’ll have a cast for a few weeks. If needed, he will give me a removable boot so that I’m fit to fly. I love that he’s taking this into consideration for me as I doubt many surgeons would do.

Today’s blip is about as exciting as it gets from a hospital bed. I find it amusing that they still drew an arrow on my leg, in case they got confused :-D

thank you everyone for your well wishes over the last few days x

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.