Only Latin names

Overcast today, but at least it's dry. Haven't been out - apart from the front doorstep - as I got up with a really sore back this morning for some reason and it's hard to get about. So this is a quick snap of one of the troughs on the deck outside the door. Not even that sharp, but I'm not going out again! 

Just written an email about the quality of a plant which I've received through the post. I don't want to get on the wrong side of this supplier as they have a good range of unusual plants and I'm supposed to be doing a swap with some cuttings and tubers that they wanted from me, so I've agreed to a partial refund rather than go through all the hassle of returning the plant. This is maybe the difficulty of trying to source something different. 

I found this note about the same plant on the website of a completely different nursery, which made me wonder what I've let myself in for!

Notes: Please note that although we usually guarantee plants for a year after purchase, we will not replace failed Rostrinucula dependens. Best grown by experienced gardeners!

I was very surprised to find a relevant quote in an Inspector Wexford novel the other day, so I'll add it as my -

Quote of the day - “There are gardens and gardens. Most of them are full of stuff from the local garden centre, but the other kind, the rare kind, contain plants you hardly ever see, the ones that only have Latin names.” Ruth Rendell  (Road Rage).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.