Palm Sunday

It being Palm Sunday I was hoping for a donkey picture and I was not disappointed. I photographed them through the lovely fresh bread and cheese (young hawthorn leaves) as they were enjoying the sunshine outside the horse sanctuary barn. It is the first time I've noticed a jack in the herd. He reminds me of dear departed Bodkin who used to live next door.

Repetition is in the nature of the blip beast so here's The Donkey by GK Chesterton again. I always recite it to myself on Palm Sunday.

  When fishes flew and forests walked
   And figs grew upon thorn,
Some moment when the moon was blood
   Then surely I was born.

With monstrous head and sickening cry
   And ears like errant wings,
The devil’s walking parody
   On all four-footed things.

The tattered outlaw of the earth,
   Of ancient crooked will;
Starve, scourge, deride me: I am dumb,
   I keep my secret still.

Fools! For I also had my hour;
   One far fierce hour and sweet:
There was a shout about my ears,
   And palms before my feet.

I've added an image of ducklings on the lake to extras. I was pleased to see Reynard in number thirteen disused glasshouse for the first time in ages this morning but it's only a stone's throw from the lake. :( Kes was perched on top of an ash tree being shouted at by a jackdaw. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.