Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Twigging

It was meant to be grey all day today so I didn't set my alarm.  However, I woke fairly early and realised the sun was out and the sky blue, so I fell out of bed and trotted off to the reserve.  I had it all to myself.  The various birders I meet there are always kind, generous and incredibly supportive, so you'll think me horrid for saying this, but I really do love having the place to myself - nothing between me and the reserve's inhabitants except the camera.

Anyway, I spotted Mrs Sparrowhawk as soon as I turned the corner to their territory - and here she is.  What she is doing in this shot and the extra is what birders call 'twigging', ie bouncing about on the alder twigs to break them off for nest building.  Here she's using her tail for balance, which is why it's held rather high and in the extra she's also using her wings.

(I could have a rant here at photo club judges and their 'bird on a stick' dislikes.  Birds spend almost all their non-flying time on sticks, the judges need to learn to interpret what the birds are doing!)

Some of you I'm sure will like the extra better, but I didn't want to do too much of a repeat of what I did last year..

Last piece of news - I actually saw a roe deer in the reserve today - the first one (I think) in over a year.  She was lying in the sun in the middle of the reedbed - too far for much of a shot but just wonderful she was there.

Finally, thanks to all of you for being so lovely to me and my journal right now - I really do appreciated your kindness  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.