I sometimes worry...

There is a great episode of Rumpole of the Bailey called "Rumpole and the Married Lady" in which a married couple leave notes for each other to express their intense dissatisfaction with how the other behaves. I sometimes worry I am living in a Rumpolesque environment - except of course my own She Who Must Be Obeyed is far more genial and reasonable (and doesn't use Vim).

I thought of this scene as I came home from a foray into the wide world to find a note for me, wedged threateningly under a can of chili. I don't know whether I was more concerned about the note or that SWMBO had been buying cans of chili.

In the end, it transpired that the can of chili was so Ottawacker Jr. could try a Chili Dog (one of the characters in a book he is reading is eating them and he wanted to try it) - and the note was simply to tell me a friend had called and I had to ring her back.

Mrs Ottawacker was not impressed about the SWMBO analogy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.