Experimental mock-up

I've seen a photograph of a book design by Shona Grant that I’d like to emulate, so I’ve been trying to work out how she did it.  I think it must be something like this and that she used the flaps to attach the the horizontal images onto. I have a table full of folded bits of paper and I think I’m going to need to actually print the background sheet next before I can move on.  I think getting the thickness of the paper right will be crucial.  Too thick and the folding will be a problem, too thin and it won’t support the attached images and every time I create one I will need to measure out and draw the plan on the rear of the background photo!   I want to use the idea to display some of the images I took for the very wet afternoon on Harris.  Out of an A3 sheet I can add 5 attachments - will it work?  I’m going to test drive a new car this morning, so I won’t have all of this morning to play.

I woke very early and even though I tried I couldn’t get back to sleep - I had all these book ideas going through my head - I should have got up then, though I feel these days that 4am is pushing it a bit far.  So I was tired!  It also turned into a chatty lunchtime and afternoon with friends from the RPS Contemporary Photography Group - so a lot of talking and then I needed to go and buy bird food - and I then needed to sit for half an hour with my eyes closed. 

Finally,  I’d booked myself onto a Zoom talk by Vanda Ralevska whose theme was photographic projects.  One or two really interesting and creative images and I liked her approach to image making.  Though I’m not sure why she would want to turn those gorgeous colour images taken along the coast as the day broke into black and white for a book she is putting together.  By 9.30 I couldn’t last any longer!  (I’ve slept much better this morning.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.