Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

I'm starving, please feed me NOW!

Here is Angus who comes along with Dick to look after my garden. Like nearly all labs, he is constantly hungry. I always give him two Bonios. He waits at the front door until I see he is there. If I am out, he just hates it (cupboard love)!

Today started badly. I was replacing the lid on the toilet cistern when it slipped out of my hands. It landed in the cistern. I retrieved it and put it in place. Then I found I had a serious flood. The cistern was cracked from top to bottom and the water was spurting through the crack.

I could stop it manually, but there was no one to come and take over while I organised a better solution. (Not quite the boy with his finger in the dyke, but you get the picture.)

I rammed a toilet roll under the siphon bit and ran off to find piles of towels to mop up the water. Then string to tie up the siphon to the handle on the window.

Then phoned the wonderful plumber - who was not available. I feared he was away for school holidays, but he rang later. Sounds like a whole new toilet will be needed. Should I go to scrap yards to find a cistern that will fit?

I had to pop to Hexham for a much overdue mammogram (blame Covid). Annette came to clean and managed to get up a lot of the water.

At least we have more than one toilet (three in total in fact). 

I've been preparing for tomorrow's walk. So many people have Covid and I wonder if I might be the last walker standing!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.