My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

WAR! -huh, good god- What is it good for?

Inspired by Captain Jim's jaunts over Cannock Chase -and the fact it's on my doorstep- I decided to use my day off to go for a bit of a run over the Chase myself.
I got the seven mile route from a book of AA walks, taking in the German War Cemetery, before I had to cross the -very refreshing- ford about half way round. It was nice not to be pounding the roads for a change, a nice scenic change.

Back during the first world war this part of the Chase was home to an army traing camp, hence the memorials dotted around.
If you look carefully you can still find some of the remnants of the old camp.
After my run I went looking for the Freda Memorial -memorial to a dog- and I stumbled -almost literally- over a collection of overgrown brick walls that were part of the camp. Not sure which part though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.