Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Excitement turns to OMG to phew!

I was excited this morning especially when I got the tracking for the delivery between 08:00 and 12:00.  I had a look at 08:30 and it said it was planned between 07:40 and 08:40, so before 08:00 except he was just outside of Birmingham at 08:30 so got her a couple of hours later.  When he first pulled up I thought oh ****!  That's a lot more wood than I was told it would be!  There were a few deliveries on the truck!  It's all in the garage now and if we have a few dry days I can get it painted.

Mr T has been hard work today, nothing on purpose but just kept asking me about his sister (who's been dead for 40 years) and his Dad who he's just been talking to.  This went on for hours, so I was a bad carer and put YouTube watercolour tutorials on!  I was finishing off the CHC paperwork and needed to concentrate.  It worked and he quite enjoyed listening to it, and noted there is a lot of wet on wet and colours x, y and z!  Oil painting tutorials were a bit too far but he was listening as he asked what blocking in was!  

I also had an email from the hospital trust about a new patient involvement group about indwelling catheters, and we know a thing or too about those so I replied.  I was then told oh yes, I think we'd like you on the advisory group (the level above) and this is the first time this kind of catheter has been used in humans.  The aim is to reduce pain, blockages and and UTIs. There is a chance that Mr T may be able to join the trial which would be good.

And finally just had a call from Dad.  My sister and BiL have got covid, from the kids he thinks.  Mum is still on antibiotics and tired having been moved rooms about four times.  He sounded so tired.  He's emptied out the dining room ready for Mum's hospital bed and equipment so really tough on him.  Losing that connection is so hard, and really drives home the change from couple to carer and cared for (and trying to be a couple).  So hard for them both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.