Bird feeder vandals

When we returned from Manchester a couple of weeks ago, we discovered this bird feeder on the ground outside our bedroom window. We guessed that a squirrel must have managed to scamper up the wall and knock the feeder off its hook, then munched his way through the seeds scattered on the paving stones below.

At the time we didn't notice the damage to the feeder. It was only today that I spotted it. Could a squirrel have eaten its way through the plastic, or are we hosts to another breed of garden vandals in the neighbourhood?

I'm really keen to finish my work on Rachel's conference paper before we set off for Easter weekend with Mr hazelh's sisters in Nottingham tomorrow mid-morning. For this reason I was at my desk super-early today (I woke at 3:00am) and - apart for a one hour meeting with Bruce just before lunch - I worked on the paper all day, backing up my work on the hour, every hour. I would have continued editing through the evening, but a couple of weeks ago we invited Sally over for supper while Richard is in Vancouver working for TED, so I had to leave my computer to attend to my guest.

I switched off my screen just before 7pm, enjoyed a Lochinver pie with Mr hazelh and Sally, won a fierce game of Catan (despite being picked on mercilessly by the other two), and then topped off the evening with a second win - this time at Carcassonne.

I need to get up very, very early tomorrow to finish off the manuscript - but it will be done!

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.