Little Blue Boat

I arrived at the hotel in Kirkwall last night at 23:30 after a calm crossing of the Pentland Firth. It seemed a long day and a world away from when I had dragged my case down to the bus station in Edinburgh in the morning.

My upgraded room from single to twin had the advantage of seeing a little bit more of the sky than on a previous visit when I looked on to a stone wall but it still wasn’t blue, just misty and damp looking.

I was catapulted into holiday mode when I went out to survey the world at 9:30 and found  it had not yet wakened up. My circadian rhythm will have to reset for the next 3 weeks.

Reading that it is the hottest day of the year somewhere in England brings a wry smile to my face as I sit by the harbour wall fielding an icy easterly wind making it feel like 8°. I’m glad I brought my fleece lined winter coat with me.

Despite the winter chill, it is lovely to be back on these islands with the sea right on my doorstep.

Tomorrow it is onward to Stromness and my little flat overlooking Hamnavoe.
Creel taxi has been booked. I know the driver so it will make for a hilarious 30 minute drive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.