Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Pilgrim

Good Friday started with me updating the church website and Facebook page after a change to our arrangements for this Sunday's service. Then it was off down to the church to take part in our Good Friday Vigil.

So it was a late start when it came to going out for a walk. Don't know whether it was the Good Friday vibes or whether it was looking through old photos online, but I decided to recommence my walk along the Fife Pilgrim Way.

I started in Culross in October 2019 but, partly to do with logistics and partly for other (rather obvious) reasons, my last walk on this route was when I reached Glenrothes in May 2021. So a drive through to Riverside Park in Glenrothes was the order of the day today.

I spent a very pleasant couple of hours on the route between Glenrothes and Markinch, passing the site of a 6000 year-old henge at Balfarg (one of the extras) and a 2000 year-old* stone circle at Balbirnie (another of the extras). The main photo is of Gilvenbank Park at the north-east of Glenrothes. At journey's end in Markinch, I didn't have long to wait for a bus back to Glenrothes and it was a short walk from there back to the car park at Riverside Park.

It was a walk I would definitely do again, maybe next time starting a bit earlier than 5.30pm!

* The original site of this stone circle at Balbirnie was excavated in the 1970's and the circle relocated due to road widening. Its current location in Balbirnie Park is about 125 metres from its original location.
(Source: Undiscovered Scotland)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.