The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Bowood Lake (Saturday 16th April 2022)

I escaped home for a couple of hours this afternoon. I wanted to go to see the Lacock snake's head fritillaries but being a warm Easter Saturday without restrictions, and with Easter events laid on for the kids, I realised it would be heaving.Instead I chose a public footpath walk from Bowood House car park down to Bowood Lake, and hardly saw anyone.

These are some wildflowers I found growing on the edge of Bowood Lake. From where they are I doubt they are planted or garden escapees and so must be wild. I am told they are Lady's Smock aka Cuckoo Flower or Milkmaids. I also saw some Marsh Marigolds (aka Kingcups or Mollyblobs) at the same place.

The first part of the walk led me past many sheep with gambolling lambs who even at rest seemed to magnetically attract pairs of young girls. When I finally reached the Lake itself I was pleased to see many of the resident Canada geese, who I have missed, but sad to see no swans, who must have been nesting out of sight, and also noticed the large heronry had no nests, old or new, and I didn't see any herons. I did however get a good look at a gliding red kite.

In the morning I took  a few shots in the garden, added to The Woodland Garden album below.


With thanks to Miranda1008 for hosting Wild Flower Week.

L.
Easter Saturday 16.4.2022 (1900 hr)

Blip #3632 (#3382 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.1960-18.3.2010)
Consecutive Blip #021
Blips/Extras In 2022 #070/265 + #029/100 Extras
Day #4407 (1029 gaps from 26.3.2010)
LOTD #2776 (#2616 + 160 in archived blips)

Taken with Pentax KS-1 (Blue) and Pentax smc P-DA 50-200mm F4-5.6 ED WR lens

Wildflowers series
Bowood series
Flora series

A Footpath Walk In The Bowood Estate, 16 April 2022 (Flickr album of 49 photos)

Woodland Garden (April 2022) (Flickr album)(Work in progress)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Courtney Barnett - New Speedway Boogie (2016)
This comes from a Grateful Dead tribute album called Day Of The Dead. The original version was on Workingman's Dead (1970) and they'd played it live towards the end of 1969.
"Great song about the Rolling Stones and their darkest concert at Altamont Speedway, 1969.  The Dead helicoptered out of there and never actually played as promised.  They wrote this song, and the rest of Working Man's Dead shortly after the Altamont debacle." - flyingfishsurf (on YouTube).


One year ago:
The Old Forge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.