Names and places

Weather same as usual today, but at least it's dry after overnight rain. 

Went out to Homebase this afternoon to buy a few bedding plants. Down at the roadside is a 4ft post which marks the edge of my garden. I had this daft idea of fixing a plant pot on the top and planting a few geraniums in it. Whether or not it will stay there, or some passing yob knocks it off I don't know, but I'll give it a go anyway!

I was trying to buy some seed potatoes but am probably too late. We drove up to Poppies Garden Centre a mile up the road, but they were sold out too, so I bought a few plants instead. Pardon? Did you say that I don't need any more plants? OK, I thought not.

On the way back we stopped at Pennyfuir cemetery - I enjoy a wander round the older part of the cemetery where the more interesting graves are. It's interesting to see where people lived - not always in Oban. This family was unfortunate enough to have two members drowned. Balliveolan is on the island of Lismore, just off the coast here.

I couldn't help smiling when I read the name at the bottom of the stone in today's extra. Wallop Brabazon is not a name you hear every day! He was High Sheriff of Co. Louth in 1799 and to add to his nomenclatural woes he was buried in 1831 in Termonfeckin Graveyard in Co. Louth! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.