Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Easter Sunday

Happy Easter everyone! It was another warm and sunny day, we have been lucky to have such a nice Easter weekend. Gavin and I took Xena for a walk this morning and then when we got back I started preparing the lunch.

Last night before we went out to dinner, I made the nut roast. There was a lot of chopping and preparation and it took longer than usual as my food processor broke (it is over 30 years old) and so I had to transfer all the nuts to my other mixer. It was the first time I have made a nut roast and it was easy to make and worked well.

Today for lunch we had a butterflied leg of lamb prepared in a mint and herb marinade which I had ordered from the butcher (not cheap!) accompanied by roast Jersey Royals, spring greens, glazed carrots and parsnips. The nut roast was for Meriel who is vegan but it tasted rather good so we all had some. In extras you can see the nut roast with the sliced lamb in the background, not an ideal pic for veggies, haha!

During lunch we face timed Tommy and he chatted to us throughout the meal so it was as if he was with us at the table - I am sad he was not actually with us but he is working very hard and could not afford the time to come home. Roast lamb is his favourite so I felt sorry for him that he had missed out. He is a third year student but to date has not had proper end of year exams due to Covid, so these exams starting in a short while are the first ones he will have written and so of course he does not know what to expect.

These are some wild flowers that represent spring, because of course Easter is always associated with spring time. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.