Eagle Watch

A day of blue sky
and sunshine is too precious
to waste or ignore

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck at 6 catching that lovely glow of light behind my mountains. I finished my morning coffee before I ventured out in the sunshine. As I backed my car out of the garage I saw that my neighbours were continuing their garage sale for the third day, contrary to their advertising it as a two-day sale. Grrrr!

I thought I should go in search of eagles this morning. My first stop was Mission Flats where I took a panorama of the Thompson River looking to the northwest. What a glorious morning! 

I checked out the location of the car I'd discovered hidden down by the river below the road. It was gone. I must assume it had been stolen. No word of anything untoward in our local news. 

I parked under the eagle tree beside the road where three juvenile eagles were perched. I managed a shot before they were gone again. 

I drove up the hill to the Merritt Highway leading south out of Kamloops. I drove as far as Shumway Lake, then turned around. I drove across Campbell Creek Road to Walker Lake where I have painted in days past. 
I looked across the lake to the herd of cows and calves that were gathered. On the lake in front of them were many flocks of ducks bobbing. Groups of them would suddenly fly up and away. I caught sight of three eagles hunting the ducks. They each took turns dive bombing the ducks and sending the flock scattering. I managed to catch one aerial shot of one eagle soaring close over the lake. It was amazing and disturbing to watch. 

I took the drive through to the east end of Campbell Creek Road, through Barnhartvale and then west back into Kamloops. It made for a really lovely drive on a bright and beautiful morning.

I dropped flowers off for my daughter on my way home. I will be home working on cottons today. 

We will enjoy a mostly sunny day with a high of 15 C. Tomorrow does not look so promising. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.