56 F / 13 C

Marmots on Monday -
What a great way to start the
week! Fuzzy cuteness!

~carliewired

I was rather late getting out the door with my camera this morning. I dawdled over my large coffee knowing full well the sun was deliciously warm but the wind was decidedly cold. 

I intended to make it a short jaunt and a quick trip to McArthur Island Park. 

I drove around starting on the north side of the slough. I found a school group looking intently into the slough and getting some information from a senior. A hundred feet past the group, the city crew was working on the Butterfly Garden. Little points of green are just beginning to emerge there. 

I drove around to the south side where I could see down to the Thompson River and across to the downtown. That cold wind kept me moving. 

Young marmots were gamboling about the river bank. They are few in number so far. I think they are finding it hard to find food. They will come close hoping for handouts. The sun on the cement rubble must heat up fast for them to enjoy its warmth. 

I left a quilted heart on a bench near the river bank.

I stopped at the Xeriscape Garden where I found some blossoms and colour. I was here just a week ago and there was no sign of spring then at all. Now the trees are leafing out. The cottonwoods are beginning to show their spring green. 

I'm in for the rest of the day to putter along with my jobs. It will be another quiet one. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.