Living my dream

By Mima

Drying

The onions are drying in the sun for a few days before I put them into the cool store. I grow both red and brown onions. Red ones are more successful every year. But the brown ones last longer in storage before shooting or rotting in spring. So I persist growing both.

Bean and I are visiting her Dads tomorrow and I’m taking them a box of veg and fruit, for which they want to pay $50. Having no idea how much fresh produce costs in the shops, I looked up commercial boxes so that I won’t under- or overwhelm them. It was a huge shock to see how little you get for a $50 box ordered online: it’s pitiful. Inevitably the Dads will get a bit more than that.

I hope the rapid price hikes will encourage more people to create veg and fruit gardens so they can grow at least some of their own. The benefits are more than just financial.

Completely coincidentally I’ve been listening to this week's The Guardian Long Read podcast “How we lost our sensory connection with food - and how to restore it”. We have a lot to relearn…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.