Woodland Surprise

With the continuing sunny warm weather I once again ventured out, this time heading for the National Trust's Clandon Park with picnic lunch in tow.  With the house and facilities still closed until May, this small National Trust property was wonderfully peaceful ... just the job for a relaxing Easter Sunday lunch away from the crowds.

After a short walk, I drove round the corner to Hatchlands intending to get an afternoon treat.  It was a bit busier, but not overly so and I purchased an ice cream to enjoy looking over the meadowlands.

Intriguing signs saying "to the bluebells" led me to the far side of the estate, and a small ancient woodland area. I hadn't expected the classic woodland floor covered with bluebells, especially as everywhere else I had been they were still some way off full bloom. Yet there it was, with a lovely sweet scent wafting around as an extra.  The NT had created a roped circular path round the wood to dissuade people from trampling the plants while leaving plenty of open vistas through the trees.  A great end to a lovely restful day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.