Style

Oh well, the excitement is over. For now...

Last night after the ice hockey finished I drove north as far as Durham and stayed the night at the Hotel Indigo. I completed the journey after breakfast this morning. 

Yes, breakfast. I had a Marco Pierre White breakfast, which is just like any other good hotel breakfast but sounds posh. The emphasis is on "good". 

The hotel building is a conversion of a 19th century gin palace, and thoroughly excellent. 

It was cheaper than the down-at-heel Holiday Inn in Rotherham. Hotel website algorithms are a thing of much mystery. 

The Blip is the restaurant where I had my breakfast. The slightly surreal atmosphere was added to by background music by Ali Farka Touré. Or it could have been Salif Keita. I was more focussed on my croissants than the music. 

Now I have to plan a Raving Republicans' trip to a republic (any republic will do, but Ireland and France are convenient) for the first few days of June.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.