Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Lesser Black-backed Gulls #46 / Shelduck #47

This morning I did a bit more pottering in the garden and then this afternoon we decided on a couple of hours at Lunt Meadows. 
It was a lot chillier than yesterday but at least the few spots of rain that came had the decency to come after we had got back in the car and were on the way home. 
We had 4 firsts which was nice and a bit unexpected - Whitethroat, Reed Warbler, Swallow and House Martin - and all of them evaded the camera. 
But we sat and watched this pair of Lesser black backed gulls for a while. The adult birds are similar to Herring Gulls, but a little smaller and with yellow legs instead of pink legs. I have no clue how to separate the  juveniles. I find it very difficult to ID gulls in general. 
Nice of the shelduck to photobomb my shot and give me a 2-for-1 :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.