Glaciated Slab

Backblip

A good journey, we got to Borrowdale and I put my tent up, Fi and husband R were in their van, and we all three, and two collies, walked up to Glaciated Slab in Combe Gill. It's a horrid walk up at the top due to the boulders and scree, but we got there eventually. R stayed for a while to take photos before taking the dogs back to the campsite at Chapel Stile.

We'd climbed here last year, so we led the routes we'd seconded before and Fi also led a route near the base of the crag. I was psyched to lead a Severe on the slab but unfortunately we had to wait for another pair to climb it first. The second was really making a meal of things, not liking it, being scared etc. and while it's completely understandable and normal - she'd obviously not been climbing long  - it was no help to me and I could feel my confidence ebbing away. I stopped watching, but I could still hear her!

She failed to get a cam out and left it, I said that I'd get it, I still had hopes of doing the route. As it was, I managed to climb high enough to release the cam for them, but then found it too difficult to get any higher. But I knew that I could traverse rightwards easily to escape, and that's what I did. The more I try Severes, the more likely I'll complete one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.